Posted by: suemason | November 23, 2009

How we came to have a song written about the Jowett Javelin

There aren’t that many songs written about named cars, so we are proud that the Jowett has been chosen to enter that brief list.

Harvey Andrews has sent us a snippet from his book, Gold star to The Ozarks (see his website) which takes us down memory lane to the times when we ‘never had it so good’
Over to you, Harvey……………

When Harold Macmillan, the Prime Minister, said ‘You’ve never had it so good’, my father had to agree with him, albeit with great reluctance.
“Do you know, if this goes on, we might get ourselves a little car someday,” he said.
“Don’t be silly Vic, we could never afford it.” Mother laughed.
“Oh yes! A nice little second-hand car might well be on the cards soon love, and then we can go to the seaside, or visit Shropshire whenever we want.”
“And who’ll drive it I’d like to know?”
“Me,” Dad said, beaming his satisfaction. “My next course at Farnborough will see me finish with a full driver’s licence. It’s all part of a vehicle inspector’s course these days, and the Government’s paying for it.”
“Well, that’s all very good I’m sure,” Mother replied, “but I’d like a few things for the house first. If there’s money to be spent it should be spent wisely.”
“It will be love, don’t worry,” Dad said, taking one of Mother’s fairy cakes and dunking it in his tea.
His longing had been roused by another visit from Uncle Charlie and Auntie Joan, my father’s brother and my mother’s sister, whose marriage had introduced my parents to each other. Charlie had got on in the world and owned a shop in Sheldon that sold sweets and toys and had a lending library at the back. Always a bit of a Dapper Dan, Charlie was the first person in our family to own a car. Once a year he drove over to take us to Sutton Park on a hot summer’s day. There I could paddle in the open-air pool and enjoy rides at the fun fair, and Mother could indulge her passion for picnics. For some years Charlie and Joan had owned a Jowett Javelin. I loved to sit in the back, smelling the leather upholstery and the polished wood of the interior. No one in our road owned a car and lace curtains would twitch whenever the Jowett parked outside our house. This year would see its last visit.
“It’s time to get rid of it Vic,” Charlie said, patting the bonnet as we climbed in, “it’s a bit dated now.”
He got behind the wheel and started the engine.
“Everybody set? Then off we go.”
The Jowett purred quietly away from the curb and eased smoothly up to thirty miles an hour. I could see by Dad’s face as he turned towards Charlie that he would love to have it, but I knew we could not afford such luxury yet.
“What are you getting,” Dad asked.
“Don’t know. I’ll try a few dealers and see what their best offer on the new models is.”
Mother and her sister chatted across me on the back seat as Charlie and Dad talked cars in the front. One day, I promised myself, I would have a car of my own, and a family to drive to Sutton Park on a hot summer’s day.

Responses

  1. The last couple of lines of this excellent narrative reminded me of a Jowett advertising slogan

    “One day it has to be yours”

    I googled it and it takes me to a rather in-accurate article in the independant.

    http://www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertainment/obituary-gerald-palmer-1106629.html


Leave a Reply

Categories

